The originally Italian Tobruk bunker was used in 1941 in the defense of the city of Tobruk in Libya. The design was taken over by the German engineers in 1942 and many variants were built in Europe. In 1942 nine Tobruks were dug in around Ypenburg to protect the airfield.
This bunker was the last one still intact. For the construction of the Rotterdamse Baan, the 29-ton bunker was moved in May 2017. From the bank of the Molensloot, near laan van Hoornwijck, to its current location. The dome and side door were installed in 2017 to protect the Tobruk.
In December 2017, the bunker got its current location on the Ypenburgse Heuvelrug, close to the ILSY park. Each year on the 10th of May, the victims of Slag om de Residentie are commemorated here. The number on the Tobruk, DL 13354, refers to the location (D), the area from Katwijk to Scheveningen, and to the Luftwaffe (L). Each bunker had a unique number.