The unique bunker village Groede (Stp.Gr) was constructed between 1942 and 1944.
When soldiers of the Canadian 7th Infantry liberated Groede and the surrounding area on October 25th 1944, they were surprised to find a well-camouflaged German bunker ‘village’, part of the Atlantic Wall, just outside the village itself. It appears to be an ordinary village with streets and houses, but in reality it is the regional headquarters and ‘Stützpunkt’ Groede. The 11 bunkers have roofs, painted doors and windows or are otherwise camouflaged to appear everyday. There are also two ‘Tobruk’ combat bunkers, concrete roads and a light FLAK anti-aircraft gun. The artillery, barracks, munitions and hospital bunkers have names such as Villa Saarland, Villa Freundlich and Villa Mosselland.
The former artillery installation was saved from major demolition thanks to the nearby deer camp. The removal of the earthen walls that had been raised after WWII exposed the bunkers once again. The original painted windows and doors were also revealed. Even the wonderful frescoes on the ceilings in the hospital bunker have been well preserved.